Accessible Page Links

Page Tools

Main page Content

Congratulations on your Achievements Jasmine and Ally

Congratulations on your Achievements Jasmine and Ally
"This year I was so fortunate to be one of two recipients of the 2017 Helen Handbury Leadership Awards. Helen Handbury Leadership Awards recognise Year 12 students across rural and regional Australia who have shown strong community leadership and initiative. This award recognises not only my strong commitment to academic studies and future goals, but what I dedicate my time to outside of school; leadership commitments, humanitarian involvement and instrumental music endeavours. The most exciting aspect of receiving this award is $5000 to be contributed to travelling overseas and volunteering during my undergraduate degree. This trip is definitely something to look forward to, and will hopefully allow me to develop the medical skills I learn in my degree, working in a place less fortunate than the one I've been able to grow up in."
Written by Jasmine Elliott—School Captain.
I am very grateful to have been nominated by Toolooa State High School for the Pierre de Coubertin award which I was fortunate enough to be one of the recipients. In order to be considered for the award the criteria included representing your school in at least one sport on the current Olympic program and in at least two other sports (individual or team). Throughout my time at school, I have represented the Capricornia region in soccer, swimming, triathlon and cross country which qualified me for consideration for the award. Demonstrating initiative, teamwork, sportsmanship and fair play were also part of the awards criteria and I always strive to display these attributes not only in sport, but in all aspects of my life. Nominees were lastly required to submit either an artwork or literary piece which illustrated the student’s appreciation of the Olympic Movement and how this spirit was demonstrated in the 2016 Rio Olympics. I am extremely proud and humbled to be one of the recipients of this award.

Written by Ally Ware—Year 12 Student.